World of Jazz 150


  1. E.J.Strickland Quintet – For My Home Folks – The Undying Spirit
  2. Nick Fraser – Too Many Continents – Too Many Continents
  3. Rita Marcotulli – Night Caller – Night Caller
  4. Ray Warleigh, John Taylor, Ron Mathewson, Frank Gibson – Reverie – Reverie
  5. Ticonderoga – Beyond Days – Ticonderoga
  6. Phil Woods Quintet – The Duke – Heaven
  7. Dave Douglas Quintet – Miracle Gro – Brazen Heart


  1. Strickland took his time between the 2009 debut album “In This Day” and this 2015 release. EJ Strickland: drums; Jaleel Shaw: alto saxophone; Marcus Strickland: tenor & soprano saxophones; Luis Perdomo: piano; Linda Ho: bass.
  2. Fraser is a key figure on the Canadian jazz circuit. This 2015 release mixes the avant garde with the traditional in an exciting trio setting. Nick Fraser : drums ; Tony Malaby : tenor and soprano saxophones ; Kris Davis : piano.
  3. A 1992 release sees Rita in mostly Scandinavian company. Rita Marcotulli : piano ; Michel Benita : bass ; Jon Christensen : drums ; Nils Petter Molvær : trumpet ; Tore Brunborg : saxophone.
  4. A 1977 session from the Riverside studios in London. Ron Mathewson : bass ; Frank Gibson : drums ; John Taylor : piano ; Ray Warleigh : soprano Saxophone, alto Saxophone, flute, panpipes.
  5. This quartet was born from a conversation between Joe Morris and Jamie Saft about their mutual fascination with John Coltrane’s “Live at the Village Vanguard Again” album. From there they decided to develop a project under the influence of the music played by Coltrane with his wife Alice Coltrane, Jimmy Garrison, Rashied Ali and a pair of guests, Pharoah Sanders and Emanuel Rahim. Right away they established that Morris would use a double bass, instead of his usual guitar, and that Saft would focus completely on acoustic piano, putting aside any electric and electronic keyboards. And they immediately named the two other contributors to the enterprise: reedist Joe McPhee – who in fact attended the recording of Coltrane’s “Vanguard Again” album, sitting in the front row – and drummer Charles Downs. These choices were obvious: McPhee and Downs are true living legends of free jazz. Morris had a well established musical relationship with McPhee and all loved Downs’ contributions, when he was known as Rashid Bakr, to the music of Cecil Taylor, Jemeel  Moondoc, William Parker and Roy Campbell. Then they figured out the name of the quartet: TICONDEROGA. The Mohawk word means “junction of two waterways”, Joe McPhee:  tenor and soprano saxophones ; Jamie Saft : piano ; Joe Morris : double bass ; Charles Downs : drums.
  6. 1984 cool jazz recording.  Other than an album for the Italian Red label the previous March, this CD from the defunct Black-Hawk label was the first to feature Tom Harrell with the Phil Woods Quintet. At this point in time, Steve Gilmore and  Bill Goodwin had been with the band since its beginning 12 years before, while  Hal Galper was a five-year veteran. The repertoire on the set is quite strong, with a pair of less-played Duke Ellington pieces (the beautiful “Heaven” and “Azure”) being performed along with Dave Brubeck’s “The Duke,” Sam Rivers’ “222,” the standard “I’m Getting Sentimental Over You” and Harrell’s “Occurrence.” Phil Woods sounds quite inspired throughout the date by Harrell’s presence, giving him another horn to work off of..  Steve Gilmore :  bass ; Phil Woods : clarinet, alto saxophone; Bill Goodwin : drums ; Hal Galper : piano; Tom Harrell : trumpet, flugelhorn.
  7. The most recent release from Dave and his current quintet. Dave’s longstanding quintet, one of the best bands working in jazz today, featuring Jon Irabagon (saxophones), Matt Mitchell (piano), Linda Oh (bass) and Rudy Royston (drums). Brazen Heart is a heart-felt remembrance of Douglas’ brother, featuring a batch of great new original compositions, as well as two spirituals, Deep River and There Is A Balm In Gilead. This new material grew out of the band’s extensive travels around the United State and Europe in Douglas’ 50th birthday year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s