Aural Delights 145


  1. The Happy Fallen – I Got Free – Lost and Found
  2. Hippies vs Ghosts – Three Shadows – D R O O G S
  3. Status Quo – Gerdundula (2nd version) – Single
  4. Cheap Wig – Luster – Agoness
  5. BIG|BRAVE – On The By And By And Thereon – Au De La
  6. Ought – Men for Miles – Sun Coming Down
  7. Tapper Zukie – Pick up the Rockers – MPLA
  8. The Virgance – 25 Years – Paradigm 3
  9. My Operator – Time for Dreams – Time for Dreams
  10. Lights That Change – Voices – Byzantium
  11. Metal Urbain – Atlantis – Thirteen O’ Clock – Volume 1
  12. Wavves X Cloud Nothings – How It’s Gonna Go – No Life For Me
  13. BIG|BRAVE –…- Au De La
  14. Hippies vs Ghosts – Droogs – D R O O G S
  15. The Happy Fallen – Adam and Eve (featuring Monica Ward) – Exclusive Track
  16. Blow Blood Records – Isn’t She Cute – Caucasoid Demo Tape
  17. The Cathode Ray – This Force Of Nature – Force Of Nature
  18. Seedhill Bruiser – Paisley Bus Drivers – The Bus Drivers EP
  19. Ought – Sun’s Coming Down – Sun Coming Down
  20. Little Dragon – Mirror – Nabuma Rubberband
  21. The Phoenix Foundation – Bob Lennon John Dylan – Give Up Your Dreams
  22. The Fall – Athlete Cured – The Frenz Experiment


  3. The Dog of Two Head version of the early 70s classic Quo tune
  5. As reviewed here
  6. Ought returns with their second full-length album Sun Coming Down, following a break-out year for the Montréal based rock quartet that saw its 2014 debut More Than Any Other Day make well-deserved waves for its blend of authentic, anxious, controlled and restive energy, with a Best New Music nod from Pitchfork and appearances on a wide range of year-end lists.
    Having spent most of 2014 on the road vitalizing audiences with no-nonsense post-punk and the feverishly observational testifying of singer/guitarist Tim Darcy (who officially changed his name from Tim Beeler this year), Ought settled into a long harsh Montreal winter hibernation, spending the first few months of 2015 writing, playing the occasional local gig, and eventually heading back to the Hotel2Tango recording studio in the spring to lay down a batch of fresh tunes. Sun Coming Down maintains the band’s tight, twitchy and economical sound, with the unfussy, understated rhythm section of drummer Tim Keen and bassist Ben Stidworthy anchoring Tim Darcy’s electric guitar and Matt May’s fuzzed-out keys (sounding, as often as not, like a second guitar). Ought pursue an artistically apposite austerity in committing these new songs to tape, referencing the arid and unvarnished production of no-wave and early indie rock while balancing carved-out angularity against an evolving comfort with textural coalescences and measured pacing. It makes for an album that’s consistently, insistently propulsive but also feels unhurried and pleasantly unhyped. Songs like ‘Beautiful Blue Sky’ (already a fan favourite from live shows) and ‘Never Better’ unfold with gradual and deliberate ebb and flow, where scratchy guitars play like dappled shards of light on gently roiling waves of bass and organ; ‘The Combo’ and ‘Celebration’ keep things crisp and concise. Darcy’s voice and lyrics continue to distinguish and define the personality of the band: his blend of ironic detachment, declarative insistence, fragmentary stammering poetics, and the occasional direct aside to the listener, finds various ways to weave within or drive through the mixes.
  7. After his 1973 sojourn to London Zukie returned to Jamaica, cutting “Judge I Oh Lord” for Lloydie Slim and “Natty Dread Don’t Cry” for Lee Perry . After an argument with Lee that resulted in the police being called, the two made peace with Lee giving Zukie some riddims to record over, and taking these and others from Joseph Hoo Kim, he toasted over them at King Tubby’s studio, these forming the album MPLA (released in 1976).
  8. On September 21, UK shoegazer The Virgance will be releasing “Paradigm 3”, his third LP in a little over 18 months, on the El Vals del Conejo label. The Virgance is Nathan Smith, formerly guitarist with nineties UK indie band Ripley, which saw BBC Radio 1 and MTV Europe airplay, and co-producer of noughties electronica outfit Loveless. Smith’s first solo LP as The Virgance was ‘Lost Continent’, which was released in February 2014, followed by the ‘Hiko Shrine’ LP in January 2015. Both received critical acclaim in the shoegaze community and blogosphere.
  9. I heard this on Dave Graneys’ excellent Banana Lounge Broadcasting Show on RRR Melbourne. Time For Dreams sees Harmony vocalist Amanda Roff team up with Tom Carlyon, crafting hazy washes of demented retro-pop. My Operator isentrancing in its restraint, sparkling in the darkness conjured up by gnarled, swirling guitar and drum machine echoes –
  10. Lights That Change is an alternative dreampop ethereal wave outfit, hailing from North Wales and headed by Marc Joy. After many years producing and engineering other artists, he turned his attention towards his own solo and collaborative creative endeavours. Thus was born Lights That Change, aimed at getting back to why he began a musical career in the first place and channeling his energies into creating the perfect dreamscape sonic horizon, primarily based on guitars.
  11. PPNW labels’ collection of 80s cult classics. The label has taken the bold move of NOT making the album available on iTunes, and is available exclusively as a limited-edition CD (500 copies only!) via the PPNW Records website.
  12. The recent collaboration between Baldi and Williams.
  13. as 5
  14. as 2
  15. Exclusive non album cut
  17. The latest single to be taken from The Cathode Ray’s highly acclaimed “Infinite Variety” album is “This Force of Nature”, which is due out on 14th September. It will also exclusively feature DJ Tony McQue’s radical remix of “Resist” as a bonus track and will be available from all good download sites including iTunes, Amazon, eMusic and Bandcamp.
  18. From a new three track EP released on German Shepherd records on 11th September
  19. as 6
  20. Nabuma Rubberband is the fourth studio album by Swedish electronic music band Little Dragon, released on 9 May 2014 by Because Music. It features collaborations with Dave from De La Soul and Robin Hannibal. The album has spawned four singles: “Klapp Klapp”, “Paris”, “Let Go” and “Pink Cloud”. Nabuma Rubberband was nominated for Best Dance/Electronic Album at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards.
  21. The sixth album from the progressive indie band from New Zealand
  22. The smell was predominantly of hot-d0gs. A barely played Fall classic with a passing resemblance to a Spinal Tap tune. More info here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s